How Green is Ottawa City Hall Under Mayor Jim Watson?

Button_French version


Ecology Ottawa grades mayor and city councillors for 2011

November 23, 2011 (Ottawa, ON) – Ecology Ottawa today released the 2011 edition of its environmental report card of Ottawa City Council. This fifth annual report card is the first for Mayor Jim Watson and many first-time councillors.

The majority of councillors received grades in the B & C range. Only Councillor Doug Thompson earned a lower grade, coming home with a D. Councillors Chernushenko, Fleury, Holmes and Hume each netted an A. Mayor Jim Watson earned a respectable B, which represents a dramatic change from his predecessor, Mayor Larry O’Brien, who consistently scored at the back of the class. The closer grouping of grades in this year’s report card is reflective of a less divided, more unified council and the tighter governing style of Mayor Watson. Council members’ grades are based on how they voted on key environmental decisions made at City Hall during the past year.

“Under Mayor Watson and the new Council, Ottawa has enjoyed some positive environmental decisions related to cycling and renewable energy,” said Alison Harman, co-chair of the 2011 Council Watch report team. “However, Ecology Ottawa is concerned that cuts to OC Transpo’s budget and service levels, together with spending on new roads, is failing to make Ottawa a leader in combating climate change.  Ottawa is being left in the dust by other Canadian cities like Vancouver.”

To read the full report card, PLEASE CLICK HERE. The grades of each councillor and the mayor are as follows:

Jim Watson Mayor B
Stephen Blais Cumberland C+
Rainer Bloess Innes C+
David Chernushenko Capital A+
Rick Chiarelli College B
Peter Clark Rideau-Rockcliffe C+
Mathieu Fleury Rideau-Vanier A-
Diane Deans Gloucester-Southgate C+
Steve Desroches Gloucester-South Nepean B
Keith Egli Knoxdale-Merivale C+
Eli El-Chantiry West Carleton-March B
Jan Harder Barrhaven C-
Katherine Hobbs Kitchissippi B
Diane Holmes Somerset A+
Allan Hubley Kanata South C-
Peter Hume Alta Vista A-
Maria McRae River B
Scott Moffatt Rideau-Goulbourn B
Bob Monette Orleans C-
Shad Qadri Stittsville B
Mark Taylor Bay B
Tim Tierney Beacon Hill-Cyrville C+
Doug Thompson Osgoode D
Marianne Wilkinson Kanata North B
- 30 -

Latest posts

Share this page

Take action

Sign Up To Volunteer
Council Watch
Sign Our Petitions
Make a Donation

Connect with us