Canadian Climate Forum Symposium Food Security in a Changing Climate

Version française

November 12, 13 – Ottawa (Westin Hotel)

The Canadian Climate Forum is offering attendees who register through Ecology Ottawa a discounted rate. Contact Charles at [email protected] for more information.

Symposium Details

A one and a half day gathering to raise awareness, share knowledge and drive action to address food security in the face of a changing climate. The event’s main objectives are to:

  • Enhance levels of understanding about the impact climate change has on food (and seed) production, distribution, value, and life cycle management.
  • Engage stakeholders from multi-sectors and jurisdictions to share evidence, strategies and solutions.
  • Develop priorities and recommendations for action to help guide decisions and best practices that lead to more sustainable, safe, and nutritious food.

Confirmed Speakers:

  • French Ambassador to Canada Mr. Nicolas Chapuis
  • The Honourable Glen Murray, Ontario Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Dr. Tom Pedersen, Chair, Canadian Climate Forum
  • Mr. Ron Bonnett, President, Canadian Federation of Agriculture
  • Mr. Robert Sandford, EPCOR Water Security Research Chair, United Nations University Institute for Water, Environment & Health
  • Dr. Dave Sauchyn, Research Chair, Water Resources and Climate Change, University of Regina
  • Dr. Susan Wood-Bohm, Executive Director, Biological GHG Management Program, Alberta Innovates – BIO Solutions
  • Dr. Richard Hebda, Heritage Potatoes Climate Project
  • Dr. Laurie Chan, Research Chair, Toxicology and Environmental Health, University of Ottawa
  • Dr. Don Lemmen, Research Manager, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation Division, Department of Natural Resources
  • Ms. Geraldine Van Bibber, Chancellor, Yukon College, member of the Gwich’in First Nation
  • Ms. Anne Hammill, Director, Resilience, International Institute for Sustainable Development
  • Dr. R. Ian Perry, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
  • Dr. Don McCabe, President of Ontario Federation of Agriculture, Past President of the Soil Conservation Council of Canada
  • Dr. Karin Wittenberg, Dean, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, University of Manitoba
  • Ms. Jane Rabinowicz, National Director for The Bauta Family Initiative on Canadian Seed Security
  • Dr. Brian Riddell, Pacific Salmon Foundation
  • Mr. Ed Desson, Nisga’a Lisims Government
  • Dr. Tim Benton, Global Food Security Programme (UK)
  • Dr. Lars-Otto Reiersen, Executive Secretary, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme
  • Dr. Hans Hurni, University of Berne
See the full program here.

Latest posts

Share this page

Take action

Sign Up To Volunteer
Council Watch
Sign Our Petitions
Make a Donation

Connect with us